You can edit a member's information at any time.
How to edit a member's information:
- From anywhere in audience, type the member's email address into the search box in the upper right corner. You can also search by a member's first name or a member's last name.
- From the search results, select View this member's record from the options menu beside the appropriate name.
- Make your changes and click Save when you're done. Click Save & add another to add someone else.
If you're adding more than a handful of people, it might save you time to drop them into an Excel spreadsheet and import them in one fell swoop. People don't use the word 'swoop' nearly as much as they should.
How to remove someone from one or more groups:
You can delete someone from a single group or from every group.
- While you're viewing the group, place a check mark beside the member.
- At the very top or bottom of the screen, choose to take 'selected members' and delete them.
- Find the member record in question.
- Uncheck the group(s) from which you're removing them. Click Save.
You can delete several people at once by finding them in a group (or searching for them) and then choosing to take 'all members' at the top of the list. Then, click delete them and choose to delete them from this group or all groups.
What about deleting errors and opt-outs?
People are typically moved into 'Error' status for either an invalid email address format or due to delivery issues. In some cases, it won’t be an email address at all, it could be the header rows from your import spreadsheets. People are listed on the 'Opt-out' tab after they've opted out of your mailings, or after you've manually marked them as an opt-out.
Here's what we suggest about deleting errors and opt-outs:
- Feel free to delete any entries that are simply header rows from your imports. These were never valid email addresses, and you won’t have a need to look them up in the future. When importing, you can also *skip* the header row so it doesn't import.
- If you see any email addresses that were format errors and you know that they’ve since been corrected in another entry, those may also be deleted. You may or may not decide to delete delivery errors, but we suggest leaving them as is.
- It’s generally best to leave all opt-out addresses in your account. Emma will always remember that they’ve opted out, so even if you delete someone and re-import them, they will remain as an opt-out.
There are a few reasons to keep these entries around. Email addresses listed in on the error or opt-out tab are typically there for a reason. Emma will never send to those addresses and you're not being charged for them, so keeping them on file isn’t doing any harm.
Second, when you delete a record, you are deleting its history as well, so if you need to look it up in the future, it won’t be available. There may be times when someone contacts you to ask why they haven’t received your emails, and if they had been listed as an error or opt-out but were deleted, you won’t have a way to solve the mystery of the missing email.
Also, if a person has been deleted and tries to sign up for your newsletter again, they will get a message requesting that they reach out to the account owner to be re-added to your account. Had they not been deleted, this process would go through seamlessly.
Is it required to keep these addresses in your account? Not at all. But we tend to think it's easier to keep them around.
If you have any questions about managing your errors or opt-outs, give us a shout at firstname.lastname@example.org.